There are very few situations that require a Knoxville DUI lawyer. If you’ve been arrested on suspicion of DUI (impaired driving), you could be facing very serious consequences. There are very complex and severe DUI laws and DUI penalties in Knoxville, Tennessee, the stakes are very high, so it makes sense for you to have the best DUI lawyer available! It’s time to give Knoxville TN DUI Lawyer Matt Ooten a call at 865-259-0999 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
What is a DUI?
In Tennessee it is against the law for any person to drive a motor vehicle while they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs with a blood alcohol concentration level of .08% or greater. It is possible for a person to still be arrested for driving under the influence in Tennessee even if their blood alcohol concentration level is below the legal limit of .08% just by displaying signs that are consistent with a person who is under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Either way, if you’re faced with a DUI charge, you need to contact a Knoxville DUI lawyer.
What are the Penalties for a DUI in Tennessee?
If an individual is convicted of their first DUI offense, they can expect the following::
- To have received a misdemeanor punishable by 48 hours to 364 days in the county jai if the offender had a blood alcohol content (BAC) lower than .20%.
- To have received a misdemeanor punishable by two to seven days in the county jail if the offender’s BAC was above .20%
- The offender will have to pay a fine
- To have their license suspended for one year
- To pay any form of restitution ordered by the court.
An offender is eligible for a restricted hardship driver’s license during the period of the offender’s license suspension. Which is why it is IMPORTANT TO CONTACT A KNOXVILLE, TN DUI LAWYER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE! If an offender is charged with a second or greater DUI offense, the severity of the penalties increase. The offense, fines, potential jail sentences, and the periods of license revocation for an offender’s second, third, and fourth DUI conviction are:
If You Are Underage and Convicted of a DUI in Tennessee…
Unlike many other states, the state of Tennessee has very stringent guidelines for those drinking and driving while under the age of 21. If you are driving with a BAC level of 0.02 percent while driving the officer can and may very likely arrest you for Driving Under the Influence while underage.
Does a DUI Stay On Your Permanent Driving Record?
If you either plead guilty or are found guilty in a Tennessee court of law, the DUI stays on your record for a 10 year period of time. If you happen to get convicted of a Driving Under the Influence after a prior DUI conviction, that prior conviction will count against you.
Can You Obtain a Hardship or Restricted License if Convicted of a DUI in Knoxville, Tennessee?
The statute provides a restricted driver license can be issued under limited circumstances. Unless the Court has authorized a license with ignition interlock device and no geographic restrictions, your privilege to drive, other than the approved restrictions, is revoked or suspended and driving prohibited per state statute.
Are You Facing a Second or a More DUI Charge in Knoxville?
Give Knoxville, TN DUI Lawyer Ooten Law a Call at 865-259-0999 Today!
Knoxville, TN criminal defense attorney Matt Ooten will make it his mission to zealously defend his clients on a wide range of criminal matters at both the state and federal levels. If you are in need of a Knoxville, TN DUI Lawyer that's ready to provide a passionate defense for Knoxville, TN DUI charge call 865-259-0999 today, we are here for you and ready to help.